Advertising sources on the Internet. Top best sites and secrets of free advertising on the Internet. Additional types of advertising on the Internet

Hello, dear readers of the financial magazine "site"! AT this issue we will tell about online advertising- one of the most dynamically developing branches of advertising and an integral part of a successful business.

If you want to start your own business, but do not know which business to open, we will help you make a choice. Having chosen your business idea, feel free to proceed with its implementation.

One of the most important components of any business is advertising. No wonder they call her engine of trade . After all, even the most wonderful product or service will not be in demand if potential buyers do not know about them.

Necessary highlight the proposed product from a variety of similar ones and convey to the potential client the idea of ​​the need to prefer it.

When choosing a platform for an advertising campaign, in no way don't miss the internet. After all, thanks to the development of technology, the World Wide Web is not only constantly growing with new users, but also becoming more and more convenient for advertisers.

It is this way of promoting your goods or services that is most relevant today . However, like any tool, online advertising can only achieve results if used correctly.

From this article you can find out:

  1. What types of advertising on the Internet exist and what is their cost of placement;
  2. What are the features, pros and cons of each of these methods of promoting services and goods;
  3. How to properly conduct an advertising company on the network, so as not to waste the invested funds.

1. Advertising on the Internet - characteristic features and its differences from traditional advertising 💻

Internet advertising is all possible ways of placing advertising materials on the World Wide Web. The format of these materials is very diverse - texts, graphics, multimedia files, as well as their combinations. The result is a large set of tools, the choice of which depends on the capabilities and goals of the advertiser.

1.1. The Internet as the main channel for the distribution of advertising at the present time

The large-scale development of the World Wide Web falls on the last decade of the last century, when Internet pages began to appear one by one. However, advertising on these sites long time was in its infancy. And only during the last ten to fifteen years use of the Internet to promote any goods and services acquired global scope.

There are several reasons for this:

  • With the development of mobile technologies and the increasing bandwidth of existing communication channels, the number of people using the World Wide Web is growing every day. The amount of time people spend online is also on the rise. From an inaccessible luxury, being on the Internet turns into a daily, or even hourly need.
  • Trading through Internet platforms, if it does not displace traditional methods, it may well compete with them, while offering new opportunities.
  • Traditional media, following the latest trends, are increasingly moving into the space of the World Wide Web.
  • The development of software tools has made it possible to create more and more advanced advertising management tools, as well as effective tools for its analysis and measurement of its effectiveness.

Although many components of online advertising are similar to traditional promotion channels, there are still a number of features related primarily to the principle of the World Wide Web. After all, unlike the usual media, here the user acts not only as a passive consumer of the information offered, but also takes a direct part in many processes.

1.2. The main features of advertising on the Internet

Feature 1. interactivity

When advertising is placed in the press, on billboards or on television, the interaction with the consumer is one-way. On the Internet, advertising seeks to involve a potential client in any process.

The user has the opportunity to respond to the placed advertising material. This can be a click on a suggested link, a click on a banner, a registration, or an answer to a question. That is, Internet advertising involves a response from the user.

Feature 2. Increasing audience of the Internet space

World Wide Web Audience constantly increasing, and so far there are no prerequisites for slowing down this process. At the same time, a significant part of those with access to the Internet is a tasty morsel for advertisers, since it belongs to the category solvent citizens.

Of course, some social and age groups are not yet involved in this process. Therefore, companies for which they are of interest as potential customers are forced to actively use other advertising channels. However, the share of such advertisers in the total number is not very large.

Feature 3. Ability to promote your products only for the target audience

Tools for analyzing advertising systems allow you to select among the huge number of users exactly those who may be interested specific product. Such a process is called targeting .

At the same time, they can be distinguished as groups of users looking for a specific product or service ( direct targeting), and those who are interested in any materials that have an indirect connection with the promoted products.

The Internet allows you to select your target audience according to many features. It could be geography of residence, age of the user, range of interests, purchases already made or existing property, which requires related products.

Targeting allows you to cut off those who are not within the scope of the advertiser's interests, and thus make advertising more effective. After all, if funds are spent on promoting products to those who initially not a potential client, such advertising will waste of money.

We wrote in more detail in a separate article.

Feature 4. Ability to accurately measure all advertising metrics

Since almost every action taken by the user is recorded on the Internet, it is possible to track the effectiveness of both the entire advertising campaign as a whole and each of its elements separately.

It is important that this process is characterized by high efficiency. And that means the possibility quick and timely response. The advertiser can adjust the ongoing advertising campaign, abandon those methods that do not bring the desired result, and increase investment in more effective types of advertising.


2. Organization and conduct of an advertising campaign on the Internet - 3 main stages 📃

Despite all its distinctive features, the very algorithm of conducting a company to promote something is common to any sales channel. It can be broken down into three stage.

Stage 1. Determining the target audience

This stage is one of critical steps, because it is precisely the compilation of a clear image of your potential customers that determines the effectiveness of the funds spent on advertising.

The identification of the target audience can be carried out in various ways. Large companies order large-scale studies with numerous questionnaires and surveys. BUT individual entrepreneur, which does not have such financial and time resources, simply conducts a study of open sources, for example, user requests on individual resources or customer statistics from a competitor.

In the most simple cases easy enough to arrange a little brainstorming. For example, the manufacturer of dog overalls can easily identify its target audience simply based on the experience of communicating with dog lovers.

Having identified the circle of potential buyers and compiled a list of their needs and preferences, you can begin to develop a strategy for promoting your product.

Stage 2. Development of a promotion strategy

The next important step is to determine in what format the advertisement will be carried out, as well as through which channels.

The budget allocated for advertising is also important. After all, if funds are extremely limited, one can hardly count on a large number of advertising platforms and large-scale actions to attract buyers.

Having chosen the general direction in which you need to move, you can select the sites where advertising will be placed, as well as the creation of specific materials, including texts, banners, videos, and so on.

Stage 3. Launch of an advertising campaign

The final step is launch of the advertisement. This is where the created advertising materials are placed, as well as the subsequent monitoring of the effectiveness of their impact. If necessary, adjustments and changes are made.


The main types of customer acquisition for goods and services on the Internet

3. Types of online advertising and its cost - TOP 10 most popular and effective areas of advertising on the Internet 💎

There are a lot of ways to promote your goods or services on the Internet, and they are constantly evolving. Development and emergence new types of online advertising due not only to the high level of competition in this area, but also to the improvement of technology.

The latter not only allow inventing new ways of conveying information to users, but also enable the latter to get rid of annoying ads. As a result Advertising channels that until recently were effective and productive are becoming useless and obsolete.

Below we will consider those areas of product promotion on the Internet that are relevant and effective at the moment.

1. contextual advertising

As the name implies, this promotion method is tied to specific context.

Operating principle contextual advertising next: the user receives advertising messages that are tied to his requests. For this, a system of keywords and phrases is used, according to which advertising messages are selected. There can be two options here:

Option 1. The user sets a specific request in the search engine, to which the system issues links to various sites with a theme corresponding to this request. But in addition to links to sites, there are also advertisements, also tied to the topic of the request.

Option 2. The user visits a site that is a partner of the advertising network of one of the search engines, and sees an ad there that takes into account both the theme of the site itself and the history of queries of this user. If a person recently searched the network for some service, then on the sites he will also be shown ads offering this particular service.

Others benefits (+) contextual advertising are:

  • Payment for the result in the form of a transition to the provided link. That is, the advertiser pays only for those impressions that ended with some action.
  • Since advertisements are issued in accordance with the preferences and interests of the user, they also benefit potential customers. And that means less rejection from users.
  • This kind of promotion is not so intrusive and annoying, like most advertisements, which also contributes to its acceptance by users.
  • The budget for conducting a contextual advertising campaign can be absolutely anything. Even for a very small amount of 100-200 rubles per day you can get it acceptable result.
  • Modern advertising networks that offer placement of contextual ads provide great opportunities for customization. That is, the advertiser can create an individual advertising system that will take into account all the nuances of promoting a particular product.
  • Recoil speed. By paying for contextual advertising, you can get an almost instant result in the form of customers who clicked on the link.
  • Huge toolkit for performance analysis placed ads and a large amount of information that can be obtained from them.

But even without minuses (-), of course, it can not do. These include:

  • A quick return also implies a short-term effect. For a constant influx of customers, constant investments are needed.
  • An incorrectly configured advertising system will lead to the fact that the money will go nowhere. It is in this way of promotion that there are risks of spending a huge budget without any return due to incorrectly chosen keywords.
  • Budget Uncertainty, associated with the calculation of the price for one click on an advertisement (the so-called click), which will be discussed below.
  • Not for all business areas this way of promotion is suitable.

Concerning cost of the same click, on the basis of which the budget will be determined, then it is formed as follows. If multiple advertisers link their ads to the same keyword, the most best places on the search engine page will be given to those who will give the highest CPC. That is, the principle of the auction operates - the one who pays more gets more.

At the same time, there are various niches, the cost of clicks in which varies greatly. For example, the cost per click for requests like "knitted toys" will average from 9 to 40 rubles, and here are the queries "PVC windows" will cost much more 500-1500 rubles in one click.

Thus, the advertiser is faced with the task of finding the optimal strategy for placing contextual advertising. One side, the chosen cost per click should not be too high - in this case, of course, many users will see the advertisement, but the profit from them may turn out to be less than the funds spent on promotion. On the other side, by setting the cost per click too low, the seller may simply not wait for the clicks on the posted ad, because no one will simply see it.

Of course, search engine advertising networks assure that any user can make such a setting, but such gullibility can lead to serious losses. To get the maximum result at a minimum cost, you need to either understand contextual advertising yourself, or seek help from a specialist in this field.

At the moment there are two the most popular advertising networks are from well-known search engines "Yandex" and "Google".

1) Yandex.Direct - contextual advertising on Yandex

Without exaggeration, the most popular and successful search engine in Runet, Yandex offers its services for placing ads in a section called Yandex.Direct.


There are many tools here that allow you to choose the right advertising strategy in accordance with your goals and available budget.

However, even when installing auto tuning The advertiser is offered a large number of possible strategies. So, you can set a limit on the cost of the transition or limit the budget for a certain period.

We wrote more about (phrases) in a separate article in our magazine.

2) Google AdWords - contextual advertising Google


  • Google provides the ability to fine-tune and point settings, offering a more flexible toolkit. Here it is possible to separate ads into groups, for each of which you can conduct your own advertising campaign with different strategies.
  • Highlighting the geography of ads also provides more opportunities- in Google AdWords, you can not only select one of the cities or regions, but also very small areas with a radius from 1 km. This option is especially suitable for advertisers who offer their services to residents of nearby streets.
  • There are more sites for placement here, and the competition is lower, which also affects the cost per click. However, the quality of the latter is often worse. The fact is that Yandex.Direct tracks the so-called "bad" transitions, that is, those after which the user immediately leaves the site. As a result, with a higher cost per click, the end result is better for the Russian advertising system.

If we compare these two systems, we can say that Yandex.Direct is better suited for beginners, but Google AdWords provides more opportunities for real contextual advertising pros.

2. Media (banner) advertising

Promotion of goods or services using a banner is in many ways similar to traditional advertising, when a colorful ad, large or small, is placed on the pages of newspapers or magazines. You can see examples and cost of placing banner ads on our website at this link .

In addition to static images, multimedia tools are actively used when creating banners. It could be short animated video, For example, beloved by many "gifs", looped short videos.

Another important property of banners is their interactivity. Very often, when clicking on a banner, the user gets to the advertiser's website. You can often see flash banners in the form of short games or small tasks that offer the user a little fun. After passing through such a game, a potential client is unobtrusively informed about the service or product being promoted.

A feature of banners is that they are not necessarily links to the advertiser's website, although the function of attracting the target audience is also inherent in this type of advertising. Equally important here is the ability to form Internet users recognition of a brand or product, fix a certain associative series.

Thus, banners can be divided into two categories:

  1. those that prompt the user to take a specific action ( For example, go to the site);
  2. those that create a certain image and recognition of the advertiser.

To place a banner, a company or an entrepreneur agrees with the owner of a site to place the desired image or animated video on his resource.

  • the popularity of the resource on which the banner is placed;
  • the size of the banner itself;
  • its location on the page.

Most often, payment is made either for the number of banner impressions, or for the number of clicks on it to the advertiser's website. Fees apply occasionally for the permanent placement of the banner on any page. As a rule, this method is used for a short time on sites with high traffic. Indeed, after some time, people simply stop paying attention to a familiar picture or animation.

As already mentioned, there are no clear price limits for placing a banner - it can be 1000-2000 rubles per month, and tens of thousands of dollars.

Finally, it is worth mentioning one of the most important points in banner advertising. It will only work if done high quality and attractive to users, and also if the information in the banner corresponds to what the advertiser offers. Otherwise, the opposite effect may occur - a persistent negative attitude will arise towards the advertised brand or product.

3.


This type of promotion comes from an English word meaning "tease". A teaser is similar to a banner in many ways.- this is also a statistical or animated ad that is placed on sites.

This type of advertising has enough dubious reputation. Very often it is associated with sites of a certain orientation (for example, erotic or fraudulent, offering instant big). For many users, it causes ardent rejection.

Often, the teaser uses a blinking image, which in theory should attract a potential client, but in practice turns the site on which it is located into a very unsightly and unpleasant place.

But even such aggressive and usually vulgar advertising have their own audience. Many beginners, just mastering the World Wide Web, come across these tempting advertising pictures. Also, unpretentious users who kill time on the Internet can “peck” on teasers.

Methods for placing and paying for teasers are similar to banner ads. The only difference is that the number of sites ready to host a teaser is much less. And the owners of large and popular sites value their reputation too much to place such ads on their sites. But the cost of such advertising, as a rule, is lower, and make the teaser much easier- quality is usually not particularly required here.

4. Targeted advertising in social networks: VKontakte, Odnoklassniki, Facebook, Instagram

In a separate group, it is worth highlighting advertising campaigns that are held in social networks. This is not surprising - after all, a huge number of people prefer to spend a significant amount of time on such sites as VKontakte or Facebook.


At the same time, when starting their page, most users provide very useful information. about yourself, including gender, age, geography of residence and your interests. (or we already wrote a group in a previous article)

  • accommodation advertising texts and ads on your own page under your account (does not require any funds);
  • creation of a special group or community (it will only take time to create and pay the employee who will be in charge of administration);
  • exchange of advertising posts with any group or community (both paid and free methods);
  • paid placement of advertisements;
  • holding various contests, in order to win in which it is necessary to repost any record (in this case, the cost of advertising is determined by the price of the prize).

Targeted, that is, aimed at the target audience, advertising in social networks has a number of advantages:

  • does not require the user to switch to a third-party resource, thereby providing him with convenience and comfort;
  • the presence of feedback not only in the form of orders or clicks on an advertisement, but also in the form of likes or comments;
  • the convenience of advertising, because often this does not even require special skills - just upload the captured photo or drive in the desired text.

1) Advertising VKontakte

If we talk about the Russian segment of the Internet, then hardly any resource can compete with this brainchild of Pavel Durov. Moreover, there is also own ad network, similar to those of Yandex and Google. The principle of its operation is simple- you need to set up ad serving based on your budget.

2) Advertising in Odnoklassniki

Another popular Russian social network, Odnoklassniki, also offers interesting options for low-cost placement of their ads. Here, the audience, as a rule, is older than on the previous service, and therefore more solvent. So here it is possible to promote more expensive services.

  • the ability to adjust the display time, which ensures greater efficiency;
  • advertising is also shown on other services owned by Mail.ru, for example, in My World;
  • the possibility of remarketing, that is, automatic tracking of those who have already taken some action on the posted ad in order to re-engage.

Of the minuses, it is worth noting the already not very convenient grouping, which makes the entire advertising system less flexible and adaptive to a specific advertiser.

3) Advertising on Instagram

Unlike the two social networks already mentioned above, Instagram has its own specialtypictures and short videos. Communication here comes down to posting photos taken here and now, and getting likes and comments on them.

  • creating special communities and inviting users to them;
  • following other users' profiles so that they follow the advertiser's account in return;
  • placement of advertising posts in popular accounts.

However, since last year, Instagram has also become available targeted advertising . True, there is one "but". The fact is that the data on the target audience for placing an advertisement is taken from the Facebook profile to which the Instagram account is linked. But a significant number of users of this resource are registered directly on it, and they do not make any connection to their Facebook page. And that means that a huge part of the potential target audience simply turns out to be outside the targeting system.

Text information on Instagram plays a much smaller role. That is why the promoted product should look good and impressive in photographs. Do not forget that this resource is popular primarily among women, and therefore the advertised product must correspond to this category of customers.

4) Facebook Ads

Ancestor of all social networks Facebook is not as popular in our country as VKontakte. But here is the public, possessing much more financial resources. So here one side, can be promoted more expensive products . But on the other, users of this network have a rather negative attitude towards direct offers to buy something and usually ignore them.

5. Push notifications as a sales tool


Push notifications (messages) - what is it. Example of advertising display

Traditionally, such notifications inform the user about any changes or news for the mobile device or computer. For example:

  • The installed antivirus periodically issues information about new computer protection tools.
  • The programs you use on your mobile device notify you when updates are available.
  • Social networking applications can inform the user that one of his friends wrote a post or posted a photo.

There are several services where you can pay and set up the distribution of such notifications. They work as follows– users subscribe to certain mailings of interest to them, and then receive short information in the form of push notifications. Several requirements must be met here:

  • received messages should not annoy the user with their frequency and intrusiveness;
  • they should be related to the topic to which the user has subscribed;
  • be linked to a page or account on a social network so that the user can provide feedback;
  • the user must be able to unsubscribe at any time, otherwise the arrival of such notifications may be perceived as spam.

6. Advertising in mobile apps for iOs (iPhone/iPad) and Android platforms

The development of mobile communications and technology has led to the fact that more and more Internet users use it from their smartphones or tablets. And almost every one of these devices has more than a dozen applications. It can be both social networks and various services for ordering and buying something.

If a mobile application is intended for ordering goods from a company, then its main function is sell this product, and at the expense of profit, the development and operation of this application pays off.

However, there are a huge number of programs for mobile devices that simply offer users all sorts of entertainment or information services. At the same time, the user downloads and uses these applications absolutely free.

Not surprisingly, the developers of many applications for mobile devices are willing to sell ad spaces in their apps. And for users, viewing this advertisement is a kind of payment for using the program.

As a rule, you can get a potential client to watch an ad two ways:

  1. make it impossible to disable or block the displayed advertising;
  2. offer the user any benefits for viewing.

The latter option is especially often used in online games, where the player can get some kind of resource for watching ads.

The types of advertising placed in mobile applications are quite diverse. It could be a text ad that pops up from the edge of the application, or an image that pops up at startup.

Often you can find an expensive beautiful video, but in this case the budget of the advertising company will be very high - in addition to the high cost of showing, you need to invest decent money in creating the video itself.

The ability to target users directly depends on what data a particular application collects during download and registration.

7. YouTube ads in videos

Views of individual videos can go off scale for millions! You can imagine what a huge number of potential customers can be attracted in this way. In a separate article, we also wrote about online advertising and how they achieve high earnings results.


There are several types of advertising on Youtube:

  • the posted video itself on any channel - both on your own and for a fee on someone else's, which is popular;
  • a small commercial that is shown before the main one;
  • text advertising placed on the displayed video;
  • a link to a video placed above the search results for a particular video.

Just like the previous methods of advertising, this type of promotion makes it possible to select impressions only target audience. The main advantage of this method of promotion is the effectiveness of video advertising, as well as very wide audience. But do not forget about the disadvantages:

  • In order for your ads to be seen by as many potential customers as possible, they need to be placed on very popular channels, and this is extremely expensive.
  • Users have the ability to disable ads, as well as use special software to block them. In addition, paid accounts do not display ads.
  • Annoying ads that interfere with watching an interesting movie or music video often annoy users.

8. Pop-ups (Pop-Up and Pop-Under)

One of the most aggressive and unloved ways for users to promote a product is popup window, However continues to be quite popular.


The principle of operation of such advertising is as follows: the user enters the site, starts reading some information, and at that moment a pop-up window pops up. To close it and return to normal browsing of the site, you must click on the cross in the corner of the Pop-up window.

However, when used carefully and correctly, such advertising can also can benefit. It is only important that it can be easily turned off, and that the advertising message is in correlation with the theme of the page itself.

Pop-up windows that inform about discounts on goods or about holding any promotions can also bring a certain result.

9. Advertising in E-mail newsletters (by e-mail)

Most Internet users are owners of various electronic mailboxes, through which they exchange work or personal information. And that is why advertising with the help of mailing letters to its subscribers still enjoys a certain popularity.

Typically, this type of promotion is used by two types of advertisers:

  1. stores or sellers of services from which the user has ever purchased goods;
  2. information businessmen who use this channel to sell their products.

1) In the first case, sending by e-mail is more image value. Many stores practice bonus and discount cards. And to receive them, you usually need to provide certain information, including an email address. Subsequently, this buyer receives letters with information about current promotions, assortment updates, discounts and personal offers.

Since the mailing is carried out to a person who has already made a purchase, which means that he is quite loyal to this seller, such a mailing usually does not irritate the user. And it is highly likely that, having received such a letter, the buyer will return to the store again.

2) For an infobusiness that is developing not so long ago, mailing to e-mail is one of the main ways to promote their services.

Initially, the user gets to some resource where he is offered free course or materials on a subject of interest to a person. But to receive these materials, you must leave your email address. After that, the subscriber begins to receive letters. In them usually, useful free information alternates with offers buy any information product.

Sending large numbers of letters manually is, of course, a matter of extremely irrational. There are specialized resources, such as "Smartresponder", on which you can configure Automatic mailing of emails to all your subscribers. At the same time, to create an atmosphere of personal appeal to each of the subscribers, you can set up putting their names in letters.

10. Advertising on thematic sites and online platforms (forums and blogs, bulletin boards, groups of social networks, large portals, etc.)

The last way to conduct an advertising campaign on the Internet, which is discussed in this article, is to place ads on various thematic resources. There are a large number of pages where people with similar interests gather, while they have the opportunity not only to read the posted information, but also to write messages themselves.

Since people with a clearly defined range of interests often communicate on such resources, placing ads here will as pinpoint.

However, this method of promotion has a number of disadvantages:

  • a lot of labor - after all, it is necessary not only to find a suitable resource and register on it, but also write a message, and then track its fate and comments on it;
  • owners and administrators of many resources do not like explicit advertising and immediately ban those who place it;
  • on many resources where the placement of advertising posts is not prohibited, there are restrictions on their number for a certain period of time;
  • if the advertisement seems intrusive to other interlocutors and has arisen from “nowhere”, no one will respond to it - that is, in order to earn trust, in many forums you first need to talk pretty much just like that.

Thus, this method is suitable only for those sellers whose goods or services are single, and a certain amount of time can be spent on their sale.

In addition, this option is suitable for novice entrepreneurs who have advertising budget missing as such.

Summary analysis of the described types of online advertising

After reviewing all ten of the most interesting and popular types of advertising, it is worth mentioning which of them are the most effective, and how the cost of various promotion methods compares.

Table: pros and cons of various types of advertising on the Internet


The most expensive way to promote any service or product on the Internet is banner advertising , which requires not only payment for placement, but also funds for creating a high-quality and attractive advertisement. Also, posting information about your product will be quite an expensive pleasure. on Youtube, in mobile applications and social networks, as well as using push notifications.

As for the effectiveness of the impact on the user and the possibility of attracting the largest possible number of buyers, there is no equal contextual advertising . Taking into account the fact that its cost can be made extremely low, this type of promotion is the most optimal.

But the placement of teasers and banners, alas, will not bring much result. At the same time, if banner advertising at least provides an image component, then teasers, on the contrary, can scare away a significant part of users. Also, do not rely too much on the free placement of ads on thematic pages.


4. Pros ( + ) and cons (− ) of online advertising 📊

Like any channel for promoting a product, the Internet has certain benefits (+) over other forms of advertising.

These include:

  • Relative cheapness and the ability to pay only for effective advertising actions, For example, link clicks.
  • Advertising posted on the Internet is able to work around the clock throughout the year, there is no need to take breaks and days off.
  • Many Internet users easily embrace new products and services, subsequently delivering positive messages to conservative shoppers.
  • Huge database of analytical tools allows quickly and accurately assess the effectiveness of an advertising company, as well as make important marketing measurements which will serve to increase sales in the future.
  • The ability to quickly change the advertising strategy at any time with minimal cost. If an advertiser sees that a certain promotional method is not working, he can correct it before the budget allocated for the implementation of this strategy is exhausted.

The main disadvantage (-) organization of an advertising company on the World Wide Web is incredible competition . Due to the excessive number of already existing pages, as well as the placed advertisements, many users form the so-called "blind zone", when they simply do not notice the posted advertisement, having become accustomed to ignoring it.

5. Main parameters for measuring the effectiveness of online advertising (CPM, CTR and CPC)

As mentioned earlier, one of the undoubted advantages of promoting products on the Internet is the ability to accurately measure the effectiveness of the use of each individual platform or ad.

The main indicator of how effectively this or method of advertising works is coefficient CTR . It is determined by the ratio of ad impressions to the number of active actions taken by the user. As a rule, such actions are considered to be a click on an advertisement followed by a transition to the advertiser's website.

This ratio shows how many users who were shown the ad were interested in the ad and clicked on the link to learn more. This value is very different for different types of advertising, which is primarily due to different user targeting options.

However, it is important to remember that this indicator is only a way to measure the effectiveness of attracting users to your site. It does not in any way determine the profit to be made or to be expected. After all, a person, having become interested in any product and clicking on the link, may find that the prices for it are unnecessarily high, or the product itself does not correspond to the image that was presented in the advertisement.

Also, for anyone who plans to advertise their products online, it is important to know the parameters that determine how the budget of an advertising company is determined. This is CPM and CPC. Under the English abbreviation, there are two options for the formation of payment for advertising placement.

In the first case, CPM, the advertiser pays for the number of impressions of their ad. Usually calculated on every thousand views.

This pricing method can be used in the following situations:

  • the advertising platform has a clearly defined audience for which the proposed product will be of interest;
  • resource users change quite often - because otherwise the same ad will be shown to the same user several times, the budget will be wasted;
  • the advertiser is sure that the number of clicks will be large enough, and therefore this method is more profitable compared to the one where you have to pay for clicks.

In other cases, such payment will be irrational, because with a large number of ad views, the number of clicks is likely to be extremely low, and the cost of promotion will be too high.

Another, more common way of pricing is the strategy CPC, which is the cost per click. In this case, the advertiser pays only for really effective methods of promotion that lead to certain user actions.

In addition, not the most honest owners of sites where ads are posted often hire freelancers who click on ads for a penny, creating the appearance of the effective work of the advertising resource.


The main ways to attract customers to the site

6. How to advertise online and drive customers to your site - 2 ways to advertise online 📋

To attract visitors to your site, you need to somehow advertise it, for which you will need to use one of the listed types of promotion. In this case, you can use both your own strengths and involve specialists who know all the subtleties and nuances of this difficult matter.

About that from scratch, we have already talked about in one of our articles.

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Any advertisement of an advertising nature, distributed on the Web, refers to Internet advertising. At first glance, everything is quite simple, but it is not. If you use various types of online advertising wisely, then your business will develop successfully. Conversely, carelessness in this matter can lead to a waste of money that will not bring the expected results.

Characteristic features of all types of online advertising

Internet advertising is the most promising marketing direction, since its cost is quite low compared to other types of advertising, but the audience coverage is truly huge: potentially it can be viewed by absolutely all users of personal computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones, and other mobile devices.

The beginning of the formation of the Internet advertising market falls on the middle of the 90s of the twentieth century. However, until the 2000s, advertisers did not consider such a marketing direction as a priority, and only companies with a high level of development actively promoted their products and services on the Web. The Internet has been an auxiliary advertising platform that allows you to implement marketing activities offline.

The World Wide Web has developed rapidly, and this has become one of the reasons for the changes in economic policy. By the mid-2000s, the Internet had become the key channel used to interact with consumers.

Analytical systems have also begun to function, designed to quickly and accurately measure the effectiveness of advertising on the Internet.

Recently, there has been a close relationship between targeting and interactivity. Targeting involves the allocation of all users to a certain part of the audience that meets the selected criteria, and the demonstration of advertising materials to this particular group of people. For example, a person who has passed the registration procedure on a car-themed website receives ads about gadgets that are suitable specifically for the model of his car.

Advantages of online advertising over other types of advertising

It is obvious that online advertising has more advantages than any other form. However, it also has disadvantages. It is necessary to know about them, as this will allow you to correct the mistakes made and present the company from the best side:

  • Before launching an advertising campaign on the Web, you should find out from which sources the target audience takes information about the purchased products.
  • There are many competitors on the Internet, so before placing an advertisement, think about the uniqueness of your advertising message in order to convince users to purchase a product or order a service from you.


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Formation of prices in online advertising

As a rule, there are 2 most common schemes:

CPM (cost per thousand impressions)

Payment is calculated depending on how many times an ad or banner was shown to visitors. It doesn't matter if they clicked on the link or not. Naturally, there is no extra charge for clicking on a link. In most cases, this model is used when placing display ads.

The CPM model has the following advantages:

  • low cost;
  • making a budget forecast is easy, since the rate is fixed (per 1000 impressions);
  • ads are guaranteed to be displayed the number of times you ordered.

The model also has disadvantages:

  • if the ad was shown, this does not mean that it will be clicked on, that is, the budget may be spent inefficiently;
  • it is difficult to forecast traffic for a specific number of impressions;
  • the conversion is very low, and the audience suffers from "banner blindness".

PPC (Pay Per Click)

The scheme is clear from the name - you need to pay only for the transitions of visitors to your site, that is, the cost of advertising does not depend on how many times it was shown. You pay for the fact of clicking on the link. This pricing model is used for contextual and teaser advertising.

Virtues PPC schemes are:

  • easy calculation of the number of clicks to the landing page: it is not difficult to find out who and how many times clicked on the link, what the client did on your site;
  • the risk of overspending is minimized, as you only pay for the number of clicks you need;
  • you can limit the cost of advertising for a specific time period;
  • you can target your audience by various parameters: demographic, geographic, etc.;
  • PPC advertising has a higher ROI;
  • it attracts traffic more effectively.

disadvantages models are as follows:

  • the formation of the cost of a click is carried out, as a rule, according to the results of an auction between advertisers. This leads to a significant increase in the price of advertising products sold by a large number of competitors;
  • If a user has landed on your site, this is not a guarantee that they will make a purchase. The purpose of his visit may simply be interest
  • before you gain experience in optimizing an advertising campaign, you can spend a lot of money on experiments;
  • According to statistics, there are also accidental clicks on ads on the Internet. You will also have to pay for them.

Other pricing models are also used, but rather rarely.

The main types of online advertising with examples

And now, let's look at what types of online advertising exist on the Web, what are the pros and cons of each.

contextual advertising

contextual advertising- these are text or text-graphic modules that are placed on Yandex pages and on partner sites. In other words, contextual advertising may correspond to the topic of the site on which it is placed, or it may be displayed depending on what queries the user enters most often.

Contextual advertising is targeted, that is, it is focused on the interests of different customer groups, and this is its advantage. A contextual ad is shown to a potential client if the user's interest in the subject of the product has been noticed, or if the proposed product matches the subject of the resource on which the advertisement is placed.

Most of the major search engines have their own contextual advertising services. In Runet, the most popular networks are Google AdWords, Yandex.Direct, Begun.

Contextual advertising allows you to quickly achieve the desired result. One more distinctive feature this type of online advertising is its high price. It is formed at auctions with the participation of advertisers. This leads to high advertising costs, especially if the subject of the promoted product is very popular.

Here, insert some print screen with a photo from the admin panel, when for example, 150-5000 rubles are paid per click.

To run a contextual advertising campaign, it is not necessary to have a huge budget. Spending only 300-500 rubles a day, you can achieve good results. The price of one click in different niches varies, and quite widely. For example, the cost per click for a topic such as "knitted toys" is 9-40 rubles. Requests for "PVC windows" are much more expensive - from 500 to 1500 rubles per transition.

banner advertising

Banners are graphic images or images with animation. By clicking on them, visitors get to the advertiser's web resource. The relevance of banners is especially high for image advertising, because even if the user does not go to the site, he remembers the company logo, its name, brand. And the main task of marketing is to make the brand or company symbols recognizable.

Now interactive banner advertising is very popular: the visitor must solve a logic or arithmetic problem, defeat the “villain”. The format of such animated banners is flash. Their effectiveness is especially high if the object of advertising is games or other entertainment.

SEO

SEO promotion goods is not a kind of advertising on the Internet, but it has similar goals and objectives. With the help of SEO, you can attract users to the site, increase its popularity, and promote the web resource among users.

The main task of SEO promotion is to raise the position of the site in the search engine results, as users go to the web resource mainly from Yandex or Google. Users will trust the resource more if its positions in the TOP of the issue are high.

SEO promotion also has disadvantages. One of them is the need to work on the resource all the time. If the content is updated regularly and its quality is monitored, then it will not be so difficult to keep the won positions.

It should also be borne in mind that SEO processes are difficult to predict. Promotion can take a few months, or a year or even two. Naturally, in this case, it is not worth counting on reasonable cost forecasting.

teaser advertising

Teasers are graphic images or animations whose content shocks users. They place teaser ads on informational sites or on sites with dubious content. Its effectiveness is highest when placed on women's websites.

Advertising in social networks

To promote products and services on social networks, you need to spend a lot of money on marketing activities. In this case, it is not possible to indicate the deadline for achieving the set goal, as well as to predict the costs. But still, this way of brand promotion is quite effective in the long run.

Press releases

Placing press releases on news or popular thematic resources is enough interesting view Internet advertising. It is also called article promotion.

E-mail newsletter

Not so long ago, e-mail distribution of promotional messages was very popular. Currently, it is used only to work with regular customers. However, using it wisely, you can achieve a fairly high efficiency. To do this, you need to think carefully about the organization of the distribution.

Examples of how you send emails to your clients

Types of online advertising in social networks

Targeted advertising

Targeted advertising in social networks works on the same principle as in search engines. In order for advertising to work effectively, you need to correctly determine the target audience on the social network. Find out what characteristics fit your potential customers and target them with ads. For example, when promoting a group on VK, it is necessary to take into account the preferences of its subscribers / members.

Applications in social networks

Currently, customers are often attracted using interactive methods, including various applications. The order of applications by VK advertisers is especially common, the purpose of which is to attract users and promote their group. Although this method is common and effective, the cost of such advertising is high. This makes it rarely used to promote small or new companies.

Articles and publications

New types of online advertising

Product placement

This type of advertising on the Internet is usually used in online games. Advertised brands are either integrated directly into the gameplay, or often shown to players. By incorporating product information into games in this way, the brand image will grow, making it easy to bring it to market.

Product placement has disadvantages that arise from the features of the sites used for advertising:

  • you can use this method to promote not all products, due to the specifics of the audience;
  • forecasting and evaluating the effectiveness of such advertising is difficult;
  • negative perception of advertising information by the audience is not excluded.

We do not recommend using product placement as the main marketing direction. The effectiveness of this type of advertising will be high if you bring a new brand to the market. Success is also guaranteed if the target audience is precisely defined.

Retargeting

This technology is based on the use of cookies (“cookies”). This is a simple Javascript code. When a customer first visits your site, this code remains in their browser for a certain period of time.

When a person opens various sites on the Display Network, advertising ads appear in front of him, allowing him to go to your site and calling for a specific action. That is, you interact with an audience that is already familiar with your web resource and therefore is more likely to be interested in your offers.

Viral advertising

This is a special, different from all the others, way of advertising. Its essence is that users themselves distribute information of an advertising nature. If successful, distribution occurs exponentially. How to achieve this? You can shoot a video, create a page, the content of which will interest users so much that they will share it with family and friends.

It is very difficult to analyze how effective this method of advertising is. There are no universal metrics and indicators to track the effect. However, marketing people who use viral advertising make their choice consciously. They hope that their investment will pay off many times over.

Popup windows

This type refers to aggressive advertising. Popups pop up when a user enters a site and prevent him from viewing the necessary information. The window will disappear only if the person closes it by clicking on the "cross", or registers (subscribes or takes another suggested action).

It happens that even after closing the pop-up window, the visitor is redirected to the advertiser's site, that is, the pop-up fulfills its purpose in any case.

Sometimes the content of the site on which the Pop-up window pops up does not match its content. In this case, advertising will be clearly perceived negatively. However, such messages can also be useful: for example, if they contain an offer to purchase goods in an online store at a discount or at a promotion.

Advertising in mobile applications (based on Android and iPhone)

This type of online advertising appeared relatively recently. It works on Android and iPhone. Most adults have mobile devices that allow them to use the World Wide Web (the target audience is young people aged 15-35).

An increasing number of people use various gadgets, respectively, the number of potential customers is also growing. Advertising in mobile applications can be customized for a specific target audience. You can track how effective it is by the number of active user actions.

Push Notifications

This method is new, but, nevertheless, it is often used by many companies. Push notifications are pop-up messages. As a rule, they are needed in order to notify the user about changes to the site, for example:

  • anti-virus software with a certain frequency informs about the release of new PC protection tools;
  • applications installed on mobile devices notify of the availability of an update;
  • social networking applications send push notifications about new messages, posts of friends, and other events.

At first, the purpose of such notifications was to remind the user of the application. Subsequently, they began to be used for advertising purposes. The distribution of such messages can be organized both via the Internet and via mobile communication channels (mobile operators).

There are various services that allow you to pay for push notifications and customize it for yourself. The scheme of work is as follows: after users subscribe to the mailing lists they are interested in, they begin to receive short messages in the form of push notifications. There are a few requirements to keep in mind:

  • notifications should not be too frequent and intrusive, otherwise they will only annoy users;
  • the subject of the messages must correspond to the subject of the mailing, which the user has issued;
  • it is necessary to link advertising to a page or account on a social network in order to provide feedback;
  • it is necessary that a person can unsubscribe at any time, otherwise the messages you send will be regarded as spam.

TOP 10 books that will tell you what type of online advertising is the most effective

  1. Igor Mann, Roman Tarasenko, Dmitry Turusin "Do something new"

The book describes 10 promotional tools offered by Igor Mann and his business partners. Marketers, business leaders and business people are usually unaware of revolutionary new marketing tools. Only a few can decide to become the first in the use of new advertising tools. But in vain.

  1. Vitaly Myshlyaev "iMarketing. We work according to the system

The book describes a complete system that allows you to develop marketing on the Web. The publication is based on the materials and experience of a popular seminar conducted by the author and Igor Mann. This manual should be on the table of every entrepreneur and marketer who cannot see the success of a business without competent Internet marketing.

  1. Ilya Melnikov, Larisa Byalyk "SEO victory plan for your company"

An SEO promotion strategy is simply necessary when big tasks are set in projects on the Web. Search engine optimization is needed to increase the traffic of the resource. And it doesn’t matter what project you are promoting: it can be a regular organization website, an online store, an information resource with many pages.

  1. Philip Tsarevsky Yandex.Direct. How to make a profit, not play the lottery

Contextual advertising has allowed many companies to succeed. The main thing is to conduct an advertising campaign only after a thorough analysis, otherwise it will not only not help you stay afloat, but will also pull your business to the bottom.

  1. Denis Kaplunov “Neurocopywriting. 100+ Influence Techniques with Text"

The author of the book, Denis Kaplunov, talks about ways to create compelling texts that will work with high efficiency. After reading the book, you will learn 100 verbal techniques that allow you to influence the reader.

  1. Dmitry Rumyantsev “Promotion of business in VKontakte. New practices and technologies»

The author outlines all existing strategies that allow you to promote your page or group on VKontakte, including in the absence of your own web resource. When writing, Rumyantsev relied on his rich experience accumulated over long years work. And he designed all the material in the “read and do” format.

  1. Michael Miller "YouTube for Business"

Having bright and original ideas will allow you to be noticeable. Achieving fame in traditional ways is not always possible. Are you wondering how you can promote your business at minimal cost? The author recommends using YouTube for this purpose.

  1. Ian Brodie Sales Emails

The author is an expert in marketing and describes the methods by which professional marketers and businessmen should build relationships with potential customers based on trust. The book also shows you how you can use email marketing to increase sales.

  1. Anton Popov "Blogs. New sphere of influence"

In the book you will find answers to questions: how to increase the popularity of a blog, is a blog a permissive marketing tool, how can businesses earn a reputation with bloggers and convert it for business profit. Here you will find tips on how to make Russian bloggers famous.

  1. Vitaliy Stetsenko "Traffic Arbitration from A to Z"

But in order for the work to be effective, you need to make sure that everything is in order with your resource. A site audit, which is carried out by professionals, will help in this.


Sales Generator

Reading time: 11 minutes

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The question of whether there is free advertising on the Internet is of interest to a huge number of entrepreneurs. If the business owner has money, then there will be no problems with advertising. Much more important are low-budget advertising methods when finances are limited. Given the close attention to this topic, we will describe it in this article in detail.

Free advertising on the Internet - myth or reality?

Having begun its existence in the 1990s and continuing to develop in the 2000s, online advertising is considered the youngest direction of marketing in general. It was only in the current decade that this way of promotion began to be taken seriously, seeing significant potential in it.

After all, you see, the Internet has firmly entered our lives. There is not a single area of ​​activity in which the capabilities of the World Wide Web would not be used (especially for large cities).

At the beginning of its development, advertising on the Internet was used by a few enterprising businessmen who easily achieved success in promoting in the virtual space. Now, the possibilities and tools of marketing communication on the Web are much wider and more accessible, but at the same time, the competition is higher.

Advertising can be both paid and free. But in any of these options you need to invest something. If in paid promotion methods we invest money by hiring specialists, then for free advertising on the Internet we spend our time.

Today, the market is replete with specialized agencies that provide services for the production of high-quality advertising on the Web. All of them use many methods and tools for this, some of which are not available for free use.

Effective advertising on the Internet is presented in graphic, text, animation, as well as audio and video formats. But the greatest efficiency is achieved with the competent combination of all the above options, paid or free of charge.


As we already mentioned, to give free advertising on the Internet, you need to spend your personal time. And time is the most valuable human resource, eventually converted into money. Therefore, we can say that there are no absolutely free and no investment methods of advertising.

However, when we talk about free, we mean exactly the absence of financial investments, and from this point of view effective advertising services on the Internet for free is quite feasible. What's more, many successful entrepreneurs have started an online advertising campaign with an empty wallet. Obviously, such projects have clear advantages:

  • free at the start is the most significant factor in business;
  • advertising on the Internet, today's most progressive environment for finding customers.

At the start of a business, all the more, you should not worry about paid advertising, because often it has a completely opposite effect on the Internet audience - it pushes them away from the product with its obtrusiveness.

Today's consumer clearly understands that the cost of a product already includes the cost of advertising it, and he is unlikely to want to overpay for this product. It is much easier to find the same or a similar product on the many free classifieds services on the Web.

Another thing is when a business becomes really large and it becomes unworthy to save on advertising. In this case, it is better to entrust this part of Internet marketing to specialists. Saving on advertising is advisable for start-up entrepreneurs who actively use the opportunities of the Network for the free promotion of goods and services.

13 options where to advertise on the Internet for free

On free classifieds boards


Free bulletin boards are still very popular among all categories of Internet users. There are a huge number of such sites on the Web today.

However, you should carefully choose a board for placing free advertising, since most of them are overloaded with spam and are not in high demand among potential customers. Therefore, when choosing a free board on the Internet, you need to evaluate its actual attendance and the quality of the ads placed.


Only a few message boards are known to users, whose Internet address is known to everyone. Most free sites are accessed through search engines. To search for a high-quality and proven board in a search engine, you need to specifically indicate the goods and services that you are going to promote.

The resources received in the issue will be suitable for free advertising, since this is how your potential customers will find these resources on the Internet.

Among the popular free classifieds boards that visitors go directly to are Avito, Yula, From Hand to Hand.

On sites aggregating goods and services


This method of placing free advertising on the Internet is somewhat similar to the previous one, with the difference that your goods or services will be placed as in an online store with attached photos, prices and all related information. In addition, you will have the opportunity to publish news.

Among the popular resources, we highlight tiu.ru, pulscen.ru, etc.

Naturally, such aggregators, being initially free, want to make additional profit, so they often impose any paid services. You can use them if you are going to be placed on the Internet only on one aggregator.

But it is more rational to work with several resources, making the most of their free features. Saved money is better to invest in your own website.

There are many aggregators, as well as free classifieds boards, on the Internet, and the principle of selection for placing free advertising in this case is exactly the same: look for products and services from your niche in the search engine and select the resources that are most suitable for you from 50 results.

On the forums


As a rule, forum owners and moderators do not want to see free advertising on their portals and in every possible way oppose its publication. Therefore, randomly registering on all the forums found on the Internet and posting advertising posts there is a bad idea.

Your messages will most likely be deleted, and you risk being perceived by visitors and forum administrators as a malicious spammer. A more thoughtful strategy is needed here.

First of all, you need to find the largest thematic forums on the Internet, as well as local city and regional portals, and register on each of them. You need to carefully read the rules of conduct on these forums, published messages, gradually getting involved in free communication with users.

Having delved into the atmosphere of the forum, you can start implicitly advertising your products or services, trying not to break the rules. In some cases, it is worth agreeing with the forum administration on placing a free advertising post in a specially designated section, where you, as an expert, will also answer questions of interest to visitors on your topic.

You can choose forums and portals on the Internet both by their attendance and popularity, and by the position in the search engine results obtained as a result of a thematic query.

Q&A services


You can easily leave free advertising by providing a detailed and competent answer to an urgent question on a topic that intersects with your niche. If such a message really solves the problem of Internet users, no one will delete it, even if the text contains advertising.

Among the popular resources are the well-known "Questions and Answers" from Google and from Mail.ru

In "Youtube"


With a YouTube account, you are free to show both informational videos and promotional videos on your channel. You can post your video content on YouTube, and on any less popular video hosting on the Internet.

Here it is important to correctly write a description for your videos, because it is on it that visitors will find your free advertising. Movie descriptions are also taken into account by search engines, so videos will appear in search results for relevant queries.

You should write as detailed a description as possible - this can greatly affect the position of your video in the search results and even move it to the first places of the top for a while.

As for the content, its subject should be really in demand by the target audience. All kinds of reviews of any products, services and games are very popular on the Internet today. At the end of the message, you can unobtrusively recommend your products and services by leaving a link to your site in the description.

In social networks


For free advertising in social networks, you can use both your personal page and a specially created group or public page. There you can also post interesting and useful posts on your topics, from time to time inserting free advertising.

Invite friends to your pages, recommend them to friends of your friends, in a word, actively fill the sites with live subscribers. Do not forget to ask to like the articles you like most, to repost them - this way you will attract even more visitors.

In gratitude to the most active Internet users, you can make some kind of gift or provide a good discount on your product.

On the maps

  • "Yandex maps"


This one is not entirely obvious, but effective method free advertising on the Internet is not known to everyone.

Its essence is that many visitors to popular search engines use not the main issue, but the search results on the map. This is especially true for smartphone users with enabled geolocation, which allows them to find the required points of sale in the immediate vicinity.

First of all, you need to add your organization to the Yandex map. It is not difficult to do this - you just need to register with Yandex and follow detailed instructions. Placement of the company on the Yandex map allows you to specify a link to the site on the Internet, opening hours, description of activities and other relevant information there.

Adding an organization to the Yandex map is free, but there are also paid options that allow you to distinguish your location from competitors. However, these services are quite expensive today and you should not spend money on them right away.

It is also extremely important here that a well-formed accompanying text is provided with keywords and phrases that potential customers can use to find you. That is, the description should include not only the field of activity, but also the specific names and brands with which you are dealing, since it is by the names that the visitor searches for the product of interest on the Internet.

  • Cards Google


Working with Google maps is similar. First, you need to find the corresponding link on the search engine maps page and then follow the instructions of the system. The advantage of Google maps is that they are used by default by Android devices, one of the two most popular mobile systems.

In the 2GIS directory


This directory is constantly expanding the geography of its presence, its popularity on the Internet only grows over time.

Basically, 2GIS is used by firms and entrepreneurs. If your field of activity is related to the provision of services for legal entities, you should take advantage of the free placement of your company in this directory.

In subject directories


Once on the Internet, thematic directories were very popular and were serious competitors to search engines. Their former fame faded over time, today more modern and technologically advanced advertising channels are in the foreground, but you should not completely discount catalogs.

Pay attention to free thematic catalogs that are actively used by a strictly targeted audience. Try to find on the Internet sites not only on your subject, but also related. You will most likely find a small number of directories with free advertising.

In comments


Among all the sites in the search results, blogs and sites with the ability to leave comments often come across. They can also be used for free online advertising.

From the issue, you should choose thematic resources not lower than the 10th line. Next, you just need to leave a comment on a popular article or post and unobtrusively advertise a product or service.

Pay attention to famous bloggers on your topic. Leave a couple of meaningful comments on multiple posts.

Popular blogging platforms include LiveJournal and liveinternet. You can also use local blogs known in your city. They will be able to attract potential customers from the region.

On city and regional portals


All important information for each major city is usually concentrated on the city forum or portal. Most of them have sections specifically designed for free advertising.

There are many examples of such forums on the Internet, you should find the main portal specifically for your city or for the nearest large settlement to you. This is where a significant portion of your target audience lives.

On the partner site


When your business has already acquired a stable client base, you can negotiate with another company in the same niche as you for mutual advertising. This is a simple but very effective free way to attract additional buyers - you acquire your partner's clients, and the partner receives, in turn, part of your customers.

There are a lot of ways to implement mutual PR, the easiest of which is to place free advertising on each other's Internet pages. A more complex option is to provide the client with a significant discount on the product or service of the partner company after he has purchased something from you.

Through special services


We are talking about free trials initially paid promotional products provided by advertising companies and mobile applications.

For example, some resources provide an opportunity for free, but limited use of their mailing service or service for publishing landing pages on the Internet. Webinar demos are also available to promote your products or services.

To get started, you need to register in the appropriate service, choose the appropriate package, limited, for example, to a 30-day free period. At the same time, it is important to familiarize yourself with the user agreement, which comes into force after registration.

How to make free advertising on the Internet: step by step instructions

How else can you advertise online for free

3 Common Mistakes of Free Online Advertising

Mistake #1. Completion of work on advertising immediately after its launch.


Be sure to evaluate the effectiveness of the methods of advertising on the Internet - this will save a lot of time and effort in the future. Using several sites for advertising on the Internet for free, track views and link clicks.

In addition, it is worth asking existing customers how they found your company and how they would rate the advertisements for which they found you. Asking customers directly about this is another way to improve the effectiveness of free advertising on the Internet.

Mistake #2. Incomplete or redundant information in an advertisement.

You need to find the optimal balance between brevity and conciseness, on the one hand, and sufficient information content, on the other. Finding such a balance can be very difficult, and this is evidenced by the frequency of making this mistake by advertisers.

You can avoid it by contacting professional copywriters for the service, however, such advertising on the Internet is no longer out of the question - a good text costs good money. How can you save money in this case?

Here are some tips:

  1. Eliminate the commanding tone from your ads, use soft motivation.
  2. List in plain language all the advantages of your offer that your competitors do not have.
  3. Use more numbers that clearly display facts.
  4. First, inform the client about discounts and promotions.
  5. Do not force the client to look for your contact information, it should be displayed in one place and in full.
  6. The text of the ad should be easy to read, and the design should be attractive and not repulsive.

Mistake #3. Use of famous successful people in free advertising.


Many people may find it attractive to depict celebrities or mention them in the text of a free ad.

In addition, the use of other people's images is fraught with copyright infringement, which entails certain consequences.

Almost free advertising on the Internet and without registration

We figured out how to place free advertising on the Internet. It is clear that the effect of such methods will be much more modest than the results of activities on a paid basis. Therefore, it is worth looking for a compromise between conditional free, stable efficiency and manageability.

There are such options, and although they cost money, the cost of advertising in any case will be much lower than the cost of professional services. advertising agencies. Many newcomers to the business start their advertising campaigns thanks to these methods.

  • Landing page + YAN/KMS.

Everyone knows contextual advertising. Although flexible and customizable, this advertising channel will require a significant investment to achieve tangible results. Therefore, it is better to pay attention to the connection between the Yandex advertising network and the Google Display Network.

Clients received through these networks are several times cheaper, and you will have to pay for clicks on an advertising link, and not for views by the target audience.

The bottom line is this. Through these search engines, advertising is launched on the Internet, which will be shown on thousands of partner sites of Google and Yandex. These include popular social networks - VKontakte and Odnoklassniki.

By correctly linking a selling one-page site (landing page) to customized advertising in advertising networks, you can achieve truly impressive results.


You can create your own blog, fill it with interesting articles and promote them in search engines using SEO methods. The cost of each visitor as a result will be mere pennies. But keep in mind that using SEO tools requires certain skills, and learning the basics of search engine optimization costs money.


To promote a blog with articles, you must properly optimize the site. The total cost of this method is not particularly significant and, if used correctly, will soon pay off.

We have analyzed all the main ways of advertising on the Internet. The main thing you need to understand is that there is no absolutely free advertising. In each method, you must invest something - either money, or personal time, or the labor of the involved employees (for which they need to be paid).

The first task is to understand what you are willing to sacrifice. This stage sometimes takes a lot of time, but it is better to decide in advance than to overpay for mistakes made later.

If you are an experienced businessman, then free advertising on the Internet will obviously not be for you. It is better to use low-budget, but paid advertising tools.

04Mar

Stages of an online advertising campaign

  • Informs the consumer about your product, its characteristics and benefits;
  • Trains the consumer to use your product;
  • Entertains;
  • Sells.

Today, entrepreneurs have a wide choice of channels for advertising distribution: television, radio, printed resources, billboards. However, the Internet is considered to be the most promising of the channels for distributing a communication message.

let's consider stages of development of online advertising in Russia:

  1. First there was spam. Early 90s of the last century. We all remember annoying sales emails in our inboxes. Senders didn't have the ability to personalize emails, so they sent them to everyone. As a result, advertisers in most cases received only an angry reaction from users.
  2. 2000s - the emergence and use of social networks to promote products. The development of browsers and search engines has made it possible to conduct personalized advertising campaigns on the Internet.
  3. The 2010s are the years of notifications and pop-ups.

Before moving on to studying the types of online advertising, we will consider the main stages of conducting an advertising campaign on the Internet:

  1. Formulating the goals of an advertising campaign on the Internet;
  2. Definition of the target audience. Here it is necessary to describe demographic and psychographic factors, interests and preferences.
  3. Development of a strategy and promotion program. Here it is necessary to take into account your target audience and the budget of the advertising campaign;
  4. Implementation;
  5. Monitoring by performance indicators.

Advantages of online advertising over other methods

Not all companies have huge marketing budgets. More recently, this has been the main reason for the failure of small new organizations, their efforts were not noticeable against the backdrop of grandiose advertising campaigns of the old-timers of the market.

With the advent of online advertising, everything has changed. Advertising on the Internet is not as expensive as advertising on television, radio, and in print. Even the housewife Masha, who makes homemade soap and then sells it on her social network page, can afford it.

The Internet allows you to customize your message in such a way that it will be displayed only to those users who are interested in it, that is, only to your potential audience. At the same time, you can customize product advertising for each client individually, according to his needs and interests.

Types and cost of advertising on the Internet

In fact, today there are a huge number of types of advertising on the Internet. For the convenience of providing information, we will combine them into groups.

contextual advertising

This is the most famous way to promote on the World Wide Web.

For example, you sell homemade soap, so contextual advertising of your products will be placed on women's forums, websites with women's advice.

Pros:

  • Personalization;
  • Orientation to the target audience;
  • Saving time and money;
  • Visible efficiency.

Minuses:

  • Contextual advertising works exactly as long as you paid for;
  • Unstable price;
  • The need for regular optimization of the message to ensure "clickability";
  • Distrust on the part of the target audience;

Let's immediately figure out what contextual advertising tools exist and how to place it using each of them.

Yandex Direct- one of the most famous and effective contextual advertising tools. Setting it up is quite simple, we will describe the sequence of actions when placing contextual advertising in Yandex Direct.

  • We register in the Yandex system. During registration, we select the professional interface of the service. Click on the "Place an Ad" link.
  • Setting up advertising campaign settings. Here you need to select the name of the company, indicate your first name, surname and patronymic, date of birth. It's not that important. You need to pay attention to five points: strategy, time targeting, region, setting on thematic sites and additional phrases.

Time targeting displays the time of day at which your message will be displayed in the Yandex search engine and the days of the week. When choosing time targeting, we advise you to rely on the type of product and budget.

The region depends on where you sell your product. For example, if you offer homemade soap only in Moscow and do not offer services for its delivery to the regions, then you should specify Moscow in this setting field.

Setting on thematic sites is needed to limit the resources in which your message will be displayed. Many experts recommend turning off the issue on thematic sites so that the message is displayed exclusively in the search engine itself when the user requests it.

Additional phrases are those phrases for which your message will be displayed, in addition to the main keywords. As a rule, these are synonyms and words close in meaning. Experts also recommend disabling this option to make the issue more relevant.

  • You need to select the title and text of the ad, as well as select keywords. This step is the most important.

To select the title and text, you must fill in the "link to the site" field. In this field, you must copy the link, in our case, the site where we sell our homemade soap. After this action, the title and text will be typed automatically.

Keywords are selected on the Yandex keyword selection service. You'll get to it by clicking on the "Get words" link next to the new keywords field.

In the service settings, we indicate the region and sequentially type phrases that correspond to our task - to sell soap. For example, buy homemade soap, homemade soap as a gift, and so on.

After you have typed the phrase and clicked on the "Pick up" button, you will see a page with the frequency of the typed request in a certain period of time in any region, as well as requests that are similar in meaning and their frequency. Do not choose phrases and words with a frequency of requests above 1000, requests with a frequency of 500 to 1000 per month are fine for us.

If you want an entire phrase or word to reveal your ad only in the form you entered it, enclose that phrase or word in quotation marks. For example, if you did not quote the phrase "homemade soap", then your ad for its sale will also appear when you query "homemade soap how to cook", which we do not need.

  • In the next step, you will see your keywords and their prices. We can weed out requests that are too expensive using the settings at the top of the page.
  • Sending an ad for moderation and payment for clicks. In the event that your campaign has not passed moderation, we advise you to contact Yandex Direct support at 8 800 333-9639, give the number of the advertising campaign and find out the reason. Often ads are rejected by mistake.

But we still give the sequence of actions:

  • The first step is to register with Google.
  • The second step is choosing the type of contextual advertising, that is, the services in which your ad will be displayed: the Google search query page, sites. In addition, at the first stage, we specify the name of the advertising campaign, it will not be displayed to users.

Here we select the platforms on which the ad will be displayed, the region and the strategy. Everything is the same as in Yandex Direct.

But there are also differences. The first is the ability to set a maximum click rate and budget. The second difference is the ability to add links to additional resources. Finally, the third difference is the ability to specify the start and end dates for your advertising campaign.

  • The third step is the selection of keywords. The Google keyword selection service is similar to Yandex. The rules are the same.
  • The fourth step is sending the ad for moderation, payment and placement.

banner advertising

Pros:

  • memorability;
  • "Conspicuity";
  • Wide audience coverage;
  • Increasing company/brand awareness;

Minuses:

  • Quickly annoys the user (needs to be changed often);
  • Can be intrusive and perceived negatively by the user.

Let's now figure out how to place banner ads. To do this, you can choose one of two ways: an independent search for resources and placement or placement using the services of banner services.

Here is a comparison table of these two methods.

Characteristic

Self accommodation

Using the services of banner placement services (let's take the Rotaban service as an example)

Quality of hosting sites

high

Low (medium)

Payback

High

Price

Depends on hosting site

Depends on hosting site

Short

Time costs

High
  • Search for sites and resources for placement. In order to find a suitable resource for placing a banner, you need to make a request for a topic in any search engine. In our case, homemade soap. We type in the search engine "a blog about natural cosmetics" and go through the first five links.

After you get to the site, you need to pay attention to five elements: site design, the presence and amount of advertising, site content, site traffic, audience coverage. If all indicators are high enough, then you can search for the "Advertising" section and negotiate placement with the site owner.

  • Create a banner. It should be memorable and also relevant to your product. We recommend placing information about the benefits of the product on the banner. For example, homemade soap will relieve you of dry skin on your hands and envelop you in the aroma of ripe peaches. It is also necessary to place your logo and image of the product. The user will receive the rest of the information after clicking on the link.

When creating a banner, you need to pay attention to standards. The size of the image is specified by the owner of the site where the ad will be placed. Discuss this issue in advance. But the format can be jpeg for static images and gif or flash for animation.

  • We pay and place.

Teasers and viral videos

The essence of these tools is to create such a video, image or text message that would immediately interest the user and become a kind of "virus", that is, it would be distributed on the network independently with the help of the users themselves. It is better to place such advertisements in social networks, forums.

Pros:

  • No need to spend money on distribution;
  • Wide audience coverage;
  • Ease of execution;
  • Personalization.

Minuses:

  • High risk of failure of the entire advertising campaign;
  • High competition;
  • Incorrect interpretation of the message by the user.

Social media targeting

Targeted advertising in social networks is the most accessible advertising tool on the Internet. Targeting is a small ad on a social network, clicking on which the user will be redirected to your site or page.

Pros:

  • High degree of hitting the target audience (targeting);
  • Low cost;
  • Ease of setup.

Minuses:

  • Social networks that host targeted advertising are not aimed at sales;
  • Posting is possible only in the social network.

The targeting ad structure should contain the following elements:

  • Link to your resource;
  • Headline;
  • The main information that you want to convey to the consumer (one or two sentences);
  • Image (if your brand is known, then you can place a logo, in other cases it is preferable to use an image of the product);
  • Target audience parameters: demographics, interests.

Following this structure will allow you to set up effective targeting advertising on any social network.

Advertising in social networks

Posting an ad is very easy. It is enough to agree with the owner of the page or group on placement for a certain cost.

Pros:

  • Personalization;
  • Low cost;
  • Ease of placement;
  • Opportunity to establish feedback with consumers.

Minuses:

  • The need for constant updating;
  • Social networks are not aimed at sales, so advertising on social networks is more of an informational nature.

Bulletin boards as a platform for advertising

Bulletin boards as a platform for advertising are often used by small businesses. Such an advertisement is a simple advertisement for the sale with a link to the site. In addition, bulletin boards are a place where you can place ads on the Internet absolutely free.

Pros:

  • Low cost (can be free);
  • Personalization;
  • Sales focus.

Minuses:

  • Small coverage;
  • User mistrust.

Popup windows

Popup windows - these are pop-up windows on top of the resource that make it difficult for the user to view the site.

Creating popup windows requires programming knowledge, so we advise you to contact IT specialists for help.

If you do not have such an opportunity, then you can use one of the following services for creating Popup windows:

  • hello bar- a fairly simple service. Upon registration, you will be given a special code that must be inserted into your website template. Then you will be prompted to configure the tasks of the service (collecting user contact data, calling, redirecting to another page, ad), pop-up type, ad text and image. This completes the creation of the Popup window. The service is paid.
  • GetSiteControl. This service completely repeats the process of setting up a Popup window in the Hello Bar service, so we will not dwell on it. The service is also paid.
  • mailmunch It has a free version with limited functionality. In addition, this service, in addition to setting the type of window, offers to choose a template, design and add additional fields. The sequence of actions when creating a window is similar to the previous services.
  • Sumome also has a free version. The service setting is identical to the previous ones.

Pros:

  • High brand recall;
  • Wide coverage.

Minuses:

  • Relatively high cost;
  • The ability to block them in the browser settings;
  • High placement complexity;
  • Excessive obsession;
  • Mixed reactions from users.

Push Notifications

But unlike Popup windows, Push notifications also require careful study of the content of the advertising message. First of all, it should interest the user and force them to follow the link.

Pros:

  • personalization;
  • Wide coverage;

Minuses:

  • User distrust;
  • High placement complexity;
  • Relatively high cost.

Advertising in mobile applications

Ads in mobile applications based on Android and iOS are also pop-ups. In this case, the user cannot disable the ad until they view it. Only after that, the application itself will be available to the user.

You can place such a notification by mutual agreement with the owner of the application. The technical side of the development of the ad, as a rule, is taken over by the application developer.

Pros:

  • 100% guarantee that the user will see your ad;
  • brand awareness;
  • Wide coverage.

Minuses:

  • Ambiguous user reaction;
  • Not aimed at sales;
  • High placement complexity;
  • Relatively high cost of accommodation.

Promotional videos on YouTube

At the same time, you should strive to ensure that the user "shares" what he saw with his friends. This will allow us to get the so-called viral effect, in which potential consumers themselves distribute your advertising.

There are several rules that must be followed when creating a viral video:

  • Need to be "invisible". According to the author, viral advertising should not impose a product, its task is only to hint at the product to the consumer.
  • Patience, just patience. Viral advertising often takes a long time to become known and make a profit.
  • "Infect" the consumer! The consumer must want to talk about the ad and the product.
  • The virus is the “master” of the situation. Thoughts, actions of the consumer must be under the control of the virus.
  • Exploiting the power of weak ties. In the distribution of viral advertising on the Internet, users with a large number of casual social connections are of the greatest importance, rather than people who regularly communicate with a certain circle of close people.
  • to reach a tipping point. In order for viral advertising to reach a certain scale, it is necessary to invest time, labor and money in it.

An excellent example of a viral video is an advertisement for the Delivery Club delivery service. The company released a series of short videos about the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, who use an online food delivery service to solve their fear of social contact while shopping for pizza. Each video has its own storyline, the center of which is the Delivery Club. One video cost the company an average of 5,000 rubles, and sales doubled.

Another example of a viral video is an advertisement for Cadbury chocolate. In the 1.5 minute video, a huge gorilla plays drums, and a bar of chocolate appears at the end of the commercial. This virus cost the company almost a million rubles. However economic result he did not bring.

Let's take a look at why a commercial worth 5,000 rubles turned out to be more effective than a commercial worth 1 million rubles.

  • Your product should be central to the story;
  • The heroes of the video should be associated with your product/company/brand (we all remember the cartoon about ninja turtles who loved pizza very much);
  • The video should not offend the feelings of the audience.

E-mail newsletters

In many ways, this has become possible thanks to the development of browsers and the Internet in general. You can get information about the interests and preferences of users based on their latest requests in search engines. And this, in turn, allows you to make personalized mailings.

In this case, the letter must meet several criteria:

  • Bright, interesting title;
  • Personalized offer (the product must solve the problem of a specific consumer). It is necessary to write an individual letter for each potential client!
  • The letter must include a link to your website;
  • At the bottom of the letter, be sure to attach a button that allows you to unsubscribe from your mailing list.

Pros:

  • Personalized approach;
  • Focus on sales;
  • Ease of implementation;
  • 100% guarantee that the user will see your ad.

Minuses:

  • High labor input;
  • Difficulty in obtaining contact details of potential customers;
  • Excessive obsession.

Expert articles in online journals

The first thing you will need to do is to agree with the editor of the journal on the placement of the article (for a certain cost or even free of charge).

The article will have to be written by yourself. At the same time, the article must correspond to the subject of the journal and the style of the letter.

In an expert article, it is necessary to give the most complete description of your product, its advantages, and indicate consumer value. It is advisable to confirm your words with data from scientific or expert studies.

Pros:

  • High degree of trust of potential consumers;
  • Low cost (usually);
  • Improves the image of the company;
  • informs the consumer;
  • Ease of implementation.

Minuses:

  • Small coverage (depends on the journal);
  • Not directed to sales.

CPA and affiliate marketing

CPA or Cost per Action translated from English means "Pay for action". Indeed, CPA is a promotion tool that involves paying for Internet advertising only after the targeted action of your potential client has been completed. The target action can be a link, registration on the site or the purchase of your product, you set the goal for advertisers yourself.

If the established action was not completed, payment for promotion services is not carried out. In the case of CPA, both parties, the customer and the contractor, are interested in the maximum result of an advertising campaign, since their profit is directly dependent on its success. They become partners, which is why CPA marketing is also called affiliate marketing.

Benefits of CPA Marketing

  • You pay only for real customers;
  • Your costs are fixed (you set them yourself);
  • The interest of advertising sites in attracting customers;
  • Saving time and labor resources;
  • Wide audience reach.

Disadvantages of CPA Marketing

  • The need to conclude an agreement;
  • High entry barriers for small organizations: sites do not want to take on "small" orders;
  • High competition for advertising space;
  • There is a possibility of fraud from advertising sites.

Thus, CPA allows you to pay only for real customers (leads) brought to you by the advertiser. To apply CPA marketing in practice, CPA networks are used or partnership programs. They are services where advertisers select suitable platforms for advertising their products.

CPA networks work as follows: the advertiser enters into an agreement with the network, sets up the parameters of the advertising campaign (price, uploads promotional materials, set the target action), replenishes the budget by a certain amount, after which it receives its customers.

Native advertising

Native advertising is often used by PR specialists in their activities. This type of advertising is an interesting content for readers of the site-platform. This is what makes native advertising attractive to PR people, often Internet resources publish such ads for free, and even thank the advertiser for interesting content.

  • Low cost (possibility of free placement);
  • The ability to assign the responsibility for writing the article itself to third-party specialists;
  • Live interest in content.
  • Low degree of personalization;
  • Aimed at informing, not selling;
  • The risk of "losing" the product behind interesting content.
  • Its readers should be your target audience;
  • Its content should correspond to the subject of your promotional article.

SEO + your information site

To do this, select keywords (those phrases and words that users use as queries in search engines) on your topic. It is better to do this in two services at once: Yandex Wordstat and Google Adwords in order to raise the site in the search results of Google and Yandex. Then write an article incorporating those words and phrases. The article should be interesting and informative. At the same time, its theme should promote your product.

Advantages:

  • Promotion of your own website;
  • Positive perception from readers;
  • Lively interest in content;
  • Low cost of the campaign (may be free);
  • Attracting new customers from search engines.

Disadvantages:

  • Low degree of personalization;
  • The risk of creating too “advertising” content (rejection by sites and negative reaction of consumers);
  • The risk of "losing" the product behind interesting content;
  • Possible loss of the selling function of the site.

Comparison of all types of advertising on the Internet

Average cost of placement Orientation

Complexity of implementation

200 rubles/day Sales
Depends on the resource on which it is placed, the size of the banner and the location of the banner on the page.

Can be implemented independently

teasers

300 rubles/day. Depends on the resource, calculated based on the cost per click Sales/

Can be implemented independently

200 rubles/day. Depends on the resource, calculated based on the cost of a click (transition)

Can be implemented independently

20 rubles / day. Resource dependent Increasing brand awareness, informing consumers

Can be implemented independently

Notice boards

Free advertising possible Sales

Can be implemented independently

Popup windows

Depends on many factors Sales/brand awareness

The help of specialists (programmers) is needed. It is possible to use special services (Hello Bar, GetSiteControl, Mailmunch, Sumome, AddThis, Witget, Picreel, Optimonk)

Push Notifications

Depends on many factors Sales/brand awareness

Need help of specialists (programmers)

Depends on many factors Increasing brand awareness

By agreement with the owner of the application

Free accommodation possible Increasing brand awareness

Depends on the idea of ​​the video

Free with contact details Sales, informing consumers

Can be implemented independently

Expert articles

100 rubles/day

Can be implemented independently

CPA and affiliate marketing

Percentage of sales Sales

Use of services / can be implemented independently

Depends on many factors Informing the consumer / improving the image of the organization Can be implemented independently
SEO + your information site Depends on many factors Informing the consumer / improving the image of the organization / sales

You can implement it yourself, but it is better to contact specialists

Calculation of the effectiveness of an advertising campaign on the Internet

After we have chosen the most suitable promotion tools for us on the Internet, we need to start evaluating the effectiveness of each of them. There are three universal ways to evaluate the effectiveness of an advertising campaign on the Internet: CPM, CTR and CPC. Let's consider each of them.

Click through rate (CTR) - click through rate. It displays the number of users who clicked on the link after seeing your ad.

CTR is defined as the ratio of the number of clicks on your ad to the total number of ad impressions multiplied by 100%.

Example. Your ad was shown 2.5 thousand times and clicked on by 200 people. Thus, CTR = 200/2500*100% = 8%.

This means that your ad brought 8% of the users who saw this ad to your site. As a rule, the CTR indicator fluctuates in the range from 1% -2%.

To increase this indicator, it is necessary to carry out the following work with the ad:

  • Maximum personalization;
  • Make it brighter and more contrast;
  • Resize (enlarge);
  • Change the location of the ad (place it in the central area).

Cost per click (CPC) - CPC. This indicator displays the cost per click on your ad.

Using CPC, you will be able to evaluate your ad in terms of the payback of one potential client who came to your site.

Example. Your banner costs 6000 rubles per month. During this month, 500 potential customers went to your site through it. CPC \u003d 6000/500 \u003d 12 rubles. Thus, one transition to the site from the banner cost you 12 rubles.

In order to increase the SRS, you need to:

  • Personalize your ad as much as possible;
  • Set up a geographic display filter;
  • Set up a time filter for impressions (the time of day at which your ad will be shown);

Cost per mille (CPM) – displays a fixed cost of 1000 impressions, excluding clicks.

It is calculated as the product of a thousand impressions, CTR and cost per click.

Example. Your ad was shown 2500 times and clicked on by 200 people. Its cost is 400 rubles per day.

CTR = 200/2500*100% = 8%;

CPC = 400/200 = 2 rubles per day;

Thus, CPM = 1000 * 8% * 2 = 160 rubles costs 1000 impressions of your ad.

How best to run an online advertising campaign

It's time to talk about how best to run an online advertising campaign: on your own or with the help of third-party online advertising specialists.

This is a rather difficult question. The answer to this depends on factors such as:

  • Availability of free time;
  • Your education;
  • Selected types of advertising on the Internet;
  • your product;
  • The target audience.

But still, we compared these two methods of conducting an advertising campaign on the Internet, the analysis data are presented in the table.

Indicator

On one's own Freelancers
Low (possible free accommodation) From 1,000 rubles for one type of advertising on the Internet

From 3,000 rubles

time cost

High Low

Labor costs

High Medium
High High

The width of the choice of promotion tools on the Internet

Not all tools available All tools available

All tools available

Frequently asked questions about online promotion

  1. What type of advertising on the Internet is considered the most effective?

There is no such thing as the most effective promotion tool. It all depends on the purpose of the advertising campaign, detail, quality of study. However, from the point of view economic efficiency, at the moment, you can select contextual advertising.

  1. Is it possible to conduct an advertising campaign on the Internet without spending money?

Yes, you can. But in this case, you will need to spend a lot of time and your own work. At the same time, limited tools will be available to you: advertising on bulletin boards, advertising videos on YouTube and E-mail mailing lists.

  1. What is the best way to combine promotional tools on the Internet? Can only one tool be used?

You cannot create a universal media plan. The combination of these or those tools depends on your goals, capabilities, product. But at the same time, it can be unequivocally stated that the use of only one promotion tool on the Internet will not lead to significant results.

The World Wide Web is one of the most important media. If a earlier people They mainly drew knowledge from radio, newspapers and television, but now almost all content has gradually migrated to the Internet. The Internet is used by hundreds of millions of people around the world. Mostly its audience is young and solvent. Not surprisingly, marketers have come to view the online space as a great place to promote commercial products and make money.

Today, online advertising has become one of the most profitable industries in the world. She has already surpassed other types of promotion and is not going to slow down. For example, official data from IPG Mediabrands shows that in 2017, global spend on online product presentation amounted to $209 billion. This is 6% more than the cost of advertising on TV. There are all prerequisites for the fact that in the near future the Internet will become the absolute leader, and other means of communication will go down in history.

If you're planning to master the art of PR, take a look at the Web right away. Sooner or later you will come to it, so it is worth starting to comprehend its subtleties in advance.

Benefits of online advertising

1. Web Promotion requires relatively low cost. If in order to launch a commercial on TV, you need to shell out a tidy sum, then on the Internet it is quite possible to find popular sites where you can order promotion at an affordable price.

2. Large audience coverage. As a rule, a particular site is not limited to one region. Hypothetically, your ad can be seen by the entire Russian-speaking population of the world. By the way, many online stores use this: note that they often deliver goods far beyond the country of origin.

3. Possibility of fast feedback. There are a lot of ways to communicate with customers on the Web: you can create a page with reviews, indicate your e-mail and phone number, ask the customer to leave their details, etc. Establishing daily contact with everyone is as easy as shelling pears.

4. Full product demonstration. Imagine you're advertising a clothing store on TV with a 30-second clip. What can the viewer understand from it? Will he search your store? Will it rewrite your email address, even if you show it full screen in huge font? Unlikely. But if a person finds an identical online store, he can immediately click on an advertisement and view the entire assortment in a few minutes. Obviously, stores that have official websites and established promotion on the Web are more successful than their competitors.

As you can see, online advertising is a powerful mechanism. However, in order to use it competently, you need to distinguish between types of online promotion. Each product has its own version. You cannot advertise the sale of aerated concrete blocks and public memes in the same way.

The main types of online advertising

1. Contextual.

You have probably noticed that if you drive into a search engine, say, a Meizu smartphone, LG TV or Raffaello sweets, information about these products literally begins to haunt you at every turn. This is not an accident. That's exactly how it works.

Its scheme is as simple as possible. Special systems and read the requests of each user. Interests are automatically recorded and then suitable advertisements are offered to the person.

  • search engine;
  • thematic.

The first is targeting the keywords you google. The second is used within individual online resources. For example, if you are interested in a black dress in an online clothing store, in the future you will be offered similar black dresses, or items from the same brand.

The main disadvantage: a person is not necessarily looking for what he wants to buy. Maybe he's just writing an article about smartphones. To offer him contextual advertising is an empty shot.

2. Targeted.

This type of advertising is somewhat similar to contextual advertising. True, he focuses not only on the interests of the public, but also on socio-demographic characteristics. Its name comes from the English word target - goal. This is the whole point of the principle. The marketer determines the target audience of the product and offers it pointwise to each member of the selected group. Let's say you are promoting a toy store for children under 3 years old on VKontakte. Therefore, you need to target young moms and dads. You are looking for people of age whose status says "married" or "married" and also "has a child." They offer a banner with a teddy bear.

To save money, many ways have been devised to rationally use targeted advertising. Some experts place it at a certain time of the day. Others focus only on a particular region. Third

pay attention to the gender and age of the potential client. Fourth combine all these options and add something of their own. It all depends on the prevalence of the product and the size of the budget.

Main disadvantage: Usually people go to social networks to relax and chat with friends. At such times, they are not particularly attuned to unscheduled purchases, so your ad risks going unnoticed.

3. SEO.

The success of any site, whether it's an online store or a famous photographer's blog, largely depends on the position in the search engine. If it is on the first page of Google or Yandex, then it will fall into the field of view of most users. And if he modestly huddles at the one hundred and twentieth position, God forbid that at least 5% of the audience get to him. Few people have the qualities of a researcher. As a rule, people choose one of the first options offered. Therefore, SEO promotion is highly desirable for everyone.

Main disadvantage: There are many subtleties in SEO that are inaccessible to the average person. Therefore, optimization is entrusted to specialists who know a lot about semantic analysis. Their services are priceless.

4. Banner.

Banners are good because they instantly sink into a person’s soul. bright picture will be deposited in memory faster than even the best text. There are many precedents when, after launching a competent banner ad, sales increased by 50% or more.

Banners are divided into the following types:

  • static;
  • animated;
  • interactive

The latter are considered the best option. If a simple picture or GIF may not impress the user, then ignoring a poll of two options is much more difficult. And after the first interest arises, you can win over the client further.

Main disadvantage: because of the phenomenon banner blindness people often don't notice the pictures on the sides of the site. There are so many banners that the brain of an average person perceives them poorly.

5. Email newsletters.

6. Teaser.

“Find out why Pugacheva beat Kirkorov” or “Vanga predicted the end of the world in 2018” are the clearest examples of teaser advertising. To create it, a headline is used that instantly attracts attention, as well as a revision - the main message, where a loud phrase is explained and there is a call to action.

Teaser advertising is not necessarily clickbait with a catch. It is used not only by cunning network marketing, but also serious companies to promote branded items on the market. Sometimes they launch ads in a complex way, sometimes the headline comes out a few days before the release. Warming up public interest, the authors create intrigue.

Main disadvantage: because of Pugacheva, Kirkorov, Baskov, Goji berries and super-remedies for breast cancer to teaser advertising little trust. Alas, unscrupulous manufacturers adore her.

7. Video advertising.

Many entrepreneurs are aware of the popularity of YouTube and are trying to run video ads. I must say that it brings good results. Videos are perceived with a bang by the public, especially if they are interesting and informative.

  • viral videos that you can send to a friend or post on your wall;
  • teaching notes (this presentation method is very common among various online schools);
  • image clips aimed at presenting the product from the best sides

Video advertising is also good because it can be used to really track the reaction of viewers. People will rate the video with likes, leave positive reviews, and also criticize. With this, you will see what you are doing well and what needs to be improved.

Main disadvantage: a good video will have to spend a lot of money. At a minimum, you will need good camera, high-quality editing and an adequate script.

8. Native.

Native advertising is a message that unobtrusively fits into the surrounding context. Imagine you are reading an article about the most effective ways to study in English. And, dwelling on each of them, you notice a remark that such and such a school actively uses this technique in teaching students. It would seem that they are completely neutral references, but in fact they appeared in the text for a reason.

Main disadvantage: unobtrusiveness often plays with native advertising bad joke. Because of this people often overlooked hidden message.

9. Bulletin boards.

For some reason, this option is undeservedly forgotten. Many associate message boards with the sale of used items for three pennies and think that this site is not at all suitable for promotion. modern projects. But in vain. Avito is still visited by many people, and so far it is not going to go down in history.

Here it should be noted right away that bulletin boards are just one of the ways to increase your customer base. Don't place all your hopes on him. However, with the right approach, it can give a good result. For the effect to really be, you need to make a selling ad. Clear photos, the most complete list of contacts, keywords in the title, simple and intelligible text are the keys to success.

Main disadvantage: so that your message does not sink to the very end, it must be constantly raised. This is a rather troublesome task and often not free.

10. Spam and viruses.

Since this method of advertising exists, it is worth remembering about it, however, we are extremely do not recommend to use them. First, it is not pure from a moral and ethical point of view. Secondly, its effectiveness is in question. Your potential customers are not idiots. Gone are the days when most Internet users were led to incomprehensible offers and followed dubious links. Viral ads that pop up all over the screen do not push a person to buy, and spam is immediately deleted from the mailbox. Therefore, if you want to gain an audience and make people believe you, choose a different promotion method.

The effectiveness and cost of advertising on the Internet

We have already understood that Internet advertising is useful for a product. We also figured out that it can be done in many ways. However, online ads do not guarantee successful sales. Running ads is a risk anyway. A lot depends on the mood of the public, the professionalism of the content maker, the relevance of the offer. You can insure yourself on all fronts, but there are times when even the most best ideas fail.

Do not rush to get upset. Product promotion is not a single event that happens once in a lifetime, but a process that lasts for years. Even if your initial strategy fails, you can tweak it until it starts working.

Contrary to popular belief, marketers do not rely on intuition. They have clear schemes by which they check the effectiveness of online advertising:

1. Hit. In Russian, a hit means the number of visits to a resource. This indicator, in isolation from everything else, says little. You can click on the link at least a thousand times from one computer.

2. Host. This refers to the number of unique users who are interested in the resource. You can map unique IP addresses to hits and find some correlations.

3. CTR. In common parlance, this abbreviation is called clickability. It takes into account the number of impressions of an advertising message to the user, as well as the percentage of responses to it.

4.CTB. This is the conversion rate. It shows the number of casual visitors who become customers.

5. CTI. This indicator is responsible for counting interested visitors. An interested person is considered to be the person who has thoroughly viewed the site, and also repeatedly returned to it.

6. ROI. Return on investment.

All data is taken from special counters. Professionals evaluating the effectiveness of online advertising can learn a lot from these numbers. They clearly show how the average user reacts to the information offered to him. Based on his behavior, you can successfully change the PR campaign until it starts to work in full force.

How to start advertising?

And now we move from theory to practice. Since you are reading this article, then most likely you have a project that is waiting to be promoted. So what should be your first action?

Here you should immediately make a reservation that a lot depends on the amount that you expect to invest in promotion. If you have an unlimited budget, you can order a number of promotional mentions from top bloggers and rest on your laurels. But if you expect to spend money sparingly, you will have to build a more complex scheme.

Inexpensive, but effective means of online promotion are:

  • targeted advertising;
  • thematic contextual advertising (and CCM);
  • site optimization.

Most likely, you will have to repeatedly catch the eye of users. From the first time, your sales are unlikely to skyrocket. Therefore, it is worth stocking up on finances and running ads regularly for some time.

Another important aspect is the platform for promotion. If you are a beginner, we advise you to start with search engines and social networks. This is where the largest concentration of potential customers. AdWords Search Network, Yandex.Direct, VKontakte, Facebook and Instagram are almost win-win options. Many started with them, and most were satisfied with the result. Below you will find more sophisticated ways to advertise, but for now, choose proven methods.

Conclusion

In the article, we examined online advertising from all sides. We figured out what it is, outlined its types, learned how to test its effectiveness, and also gave a couple of tips for running your first ads. From all that has been said, we will draw a few final conclusions.

First of all, always approach online promotion wisely. As you already understood, there are many ways to properly promote a product on the Web without investing millions. Try to choose options that are highly likely to work. Ruthlessly discard bad ideas. Remember that your income depends on it.

Secondly, use all possible ways. Don't get hung up on one thing, especially if you see that this option is ineffective. Practice shows that the best results are achieved by those businessmen and marketers who are not afraid of change.

Thirdly, developing a PR campaign on the Web is no less difficult and responsible task than launching advertising on TV. This article only gives you the basics of online marketing. If you are just starting to comprehend it, a long and painstaking work awaits you. There will be mistakes at first, like everyone else. The main thing is not to give up if something did not work out.

We hope that our material has become useful for you, and you will definitely apply the knowledge gained in practice. Let this article be the first brick in building a successful career!

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